Pricing FAQ

Everything you need to know about our pricing!

Updated yesterday

Here at Surfer, we believe pricing should be simple, fair, and affordable for businesses of all sizes. In this article, we will provide a comprehensive overview of our rates and answer all of your frequently asked questions.

Standard plans and features

Monthly Plans:

Annual Plans:

💸 Choosing the annual plan gives you a discount of up to 23% discount (up to $480) compared to the monthly payments.

Our standard subscription plans offer different features to meet the unique needs of our users. Besides different credit pools on each plan, you can also decide based on your requirements for organization size, possible integrations, or additional features such as Insert Terms (formerly Terms Assistant) or Plagiarism Checker.

Furthermore, to make sure you are choosing the best plan for your business, here is a short breakdown of the plans with our suggestions:

ESSENTIAL

The most popular option for professionals who want to use Surfer for smaller, medium-sized projects.

SCALE

The best option for experts and teams that value flexibility and bigger limits.

SCALE AI

It is most suitable for teams who also want to leverage our AI tool for the best price,

ENTERPRISE

We offer CUSTOM plans for customers with high content needs. If none of the available plans meets your requirements, you can reach out to our Sales Team.

Scale AI

Ready to write articles even faster and cheaper? Our Scale AI plan includes AI credits.

Just like with our standard plans, you can select a monthly or annual billing period. This AI plan includes the same features & tools as the regular Scale plan. The only difference is that you are also getting AI credits!

You also still have the option to purchase AI bundles on demand on top of any subscription, even Scale AI. If you need more credits than what's allocated in your plan, check out our dedicated article below:

Overages (usage above your plan’s limit)

Each plan will have a set number of articles you can create in Content Editor every billing cycle, but we have prepared another useful feature. We heard your feedback and introduced a new overage system - also known as usage over plan limits.

Organization Admins can enable overages for all Members on the in-app billing page. If your overages are enabled, this is how you will be charged:

A. At the end of your billing period - if your overage is lower than your plan's threshold, you will be charged alongside the renewal or when you change your plan (upgrades and downgrades).

B. Immediately - If your overage is equal to or higher than your plan’s threshold, it will be done immediately.

Plans' thresholds:

Essential

Scale/Scale AI

Max (legacy)

5 CE

10 CE

25 CE

Legacy users

If you have purchased your plan before May 17th, 2023, you are considered a legacy user. We prepared a separate FAQ article for your questions.

If you can't find the answers, please don't hesitate to ask our support team via live chat or at [email protected]!

FAQs

Q. How can I upgrade/downgrade my subscription on the new pricing?

A. You can upgrade/downgrade your subscription from the plan section. Upgrades happen immediately, but downgrades will be scheduled for your next billing date. Learn how to downgrade your subscription here.

Q. What happens if I upgrade my subscription before my next billing date?

A. Upgrades are not prorated. Instead, we will add any remaining credits you had in your previous plan, and your billing date will reset immediately.

For example, suppose your billing date is March 1st, and you upgrade on March 15th to the Advanced plan, but you have 4 content editors left from your Essential plan. Your new billing date will now be March 15th, and you will have 29 credits (25 for Advanced and 4 remaining credits from Essential) to use until April 15th.

Q: What is considered an upgrade when switching between standard and AI plans?

A: It's pretty straightforward – switching to a more expensive plan, whether with AI or not, is considered an upgrade. Similarly, switching to a cheaper plan, with or without AI, is deemed a downgrade.

Q. What if I need more Content Editor credits but don’t want to upgrade?

A. Good news! You can now buy additional credits over your monthly limit. To do this, the account owner or admin should toggle on the “Content Editor - overage” on the Usage Page. Account owners will then be sent an invoice for the number of credits used over the limit. Invoices will either be sent in about an hour once you have reached a certain threshold or on your next billing date.

Q. Can I get yearly audit credits?

A. At the moment, since Audit credits are bought as an add-on, you can only have them on a monthly basis.

Q. Why am I getting 2 separate invoices?

A. If you purchased an add-on on top of your monthly/annual subscription, you will get 2 separate invoices: one for your monthly/annual subscription and the other for your add-ons. You can check your upcoming invoices on Your Plan and click on "See breakdown →" under Upcoming Payments.

Q. Why am I getting charged tax?

A. Because we are tax-registered in the UK and EU, all members automatically get VAT added to their invoices. However, if you have a valid EU or UK VAT ID, we can add that to your account so you don’t get charged tax on your future invoices.

Q. What happens when I cancel my plan?

A. When you cancel your plan, you will keep your current plan until the current billing period ends, but your automatic renewal for next month will cease. Learn how to cancel your plan here.

Q. What happens to my add-ons when I cancel my plan?

A. Add-ons should be used concurrently with an active subscription. When you cancel your subscription, your add-ons will also be canceled, and you won’t be able to use them.

Q. Do unused credits roll over to the next month?

A. Unused CE and AI credits do not roll over to the next month, with the only exception being when you upgrade to a higher plan with remaining credits from your previous plan.

Q. Which plan am I currently on?

A. All information regarding your current plan and payment information can be found on Your Plan page. This page is only available to the account owner and selected admins. You can review organization roles on this page. If you do not see this page or the Upgrade option, please contact your account owner or support team.

Q. The limits of the biggest plan are not enough for my needs; how can I get something even bigger?

A. If none of the plans suit you, request a call with our sales team.

Additional resources:

Do you still need help? Don't worry! You can contact us at [email protected] or via live chat by clicking the icon in the bottom-right corner. We're here 24/5! 😊

Did this answer your question?